The Long Walk at SL10B CC – Episode Seven: Full Circle

From  Bear Island to the Welcome Area
Bear Island, Spectacular, Astonish and Wonderous.

And so the last day is upon me; two more sims and I’m done. I started late today, and saw a whole lot more people as I walked than usual, which is nice. And any day that starts with the sight of a flying saucer blowing up a trailer park (Flying Saucers from Outer Space, in fact!) has got to be a good one – especially when it’s followed by a garden like the one at the Lost Eden Paradise Pavilion.

Of all the walks, though, this one has more personal stops than the rest combined. Half my address book seems to be here, for a start, so when I came across The Blackened Mirror (and a couple of pages of next season’s opening script on the floor!) I realised that the only thing to do was take in everyone quickly so it was off to see (deeeep breath here) Treet.tv, Prim Perfect, Happy Hunting!, the HuntSL Museum of Hunting, the SL Newser and Metaverse Broadcasting.

What kind of waterslide is this, anyway?

What kind of waterslide is this, anyway?

I had company again by this point, which was perfectly-timed for me to stop and take a quick turn around the floor at Tango in Second Life, before going on to admire the gorgeous display put on by Running Lady Studios and Virtual Girl Productions (with whom I’m not affiliated at all, for a change). Just up from them was another beautiful build, Aqualonde. The elves who built it, though, have left me confused, since the glorious chutes of  water that run from top to bottom have no sign whatsoever of a single rubber ring in which to ride them…

Emphatic Eccentrica had enough beautiful lunacy to make up for a lack of waterslide, though, with a giant Pinocchio and a trip from the moon to the sun and safely back again. What a great way to top up my tan!

It started with a noob...

It started with a noob…

And then, what is probably the most personal of all the exhibits I’ve seen this week: that of the Caledon Oxbridge Community Gateway. It was here that I pitched up three years and change ago as a fresh-faced noob and learned the basics of survival in this strange and wonderful world we all share. My first home was here, back when the halls of residence still stood by the river, and I probably slung my first prim in their sandbox. It’s no exaggeration to say that if I hadn’t found my way there I wouldn’t be writing this now, and if The Blackened Mirror is where I stop to look forward, then this is the best possible place for me to take a moment and look back to where my own journey began.

It started With A Cube, of course, as my next stop reminded me, and the plain plywood exterior appropriately turned out to be something altogether more interesting when I stepped inside to the sight of stars. After which was my final stop, Now & Then, the Avatar Portrait Project, another thoughtful moment to stop and dig an early snapshot from the depths of my inventory, smile and look back to the path ahead.

Long Walk 7_009

Not you again?

That path took me through a few small hills before the Time Capsule display opened out in front of me. A brief stop there and then a few steps more took me back to where I had begun this walk a week ago. What a trip it’s been – and yet I’ve already heard about things I missed, and there are things I wish I’d had time to see more of.

We’re open for another week, right?

See you out there.

Long Walk 7_015

X marks the spot!

X marks the spot!

This is a hunt, and you’re looking for one (or more) of these. They’ll be somewhere on the route but even I don’t know exactly where you’ll find them so there’s no point asking me for hints. Explore! Have fun! Live a little!

If you’re joining us late, you can catch up with the whole thing here.

One thought on “The Long Walk at SL10B CC – Episode Seven: Full Circle

  1. Pingback: The Long Walk: Led by David Abbot ~ NEW PATH DAILY | HUNT SL

Leave a Reply

