The Long Walk at SL10B CC – Episode Six: Single-Stage Rocket

From the Reactor Stage to Bear Island
Awesome, Incredible, Dazzle and Bear Island.

The Reactor Stage is inside a… well, it’s a cooling tower if we’re going to be technically accurate, but cooling towers tend to go with reactors and if there were a reactor in there people wouldn’t have anywhere to dance. So there.

Semantics aside, the way to the stage can be a little challenging for the unwary. There are tight corridors, barrels of… stuff… lying around, the odd loose cable and a few other surprises, like the lasers (and if you want to know how I dealt with those, watch next Monday’s Designing Worlds). Inside is a space you’ll have almost certainly seen written about elsewhere – a huge cavern of a place with a rocket pointing its exhaust right at the dance floor. While this would probably fail even a Bond villain’s lair safety inspection, it looks fantastic and is well worth a look.

Great beach, comfy chairs, nice view of the reactor. Perfect.

Great beach, comfy chairs, nice view of the reactor. Perfect.

Sneaking back out, though, I wanted to see more of what is sadly likely to get far too little attention – the rest of the landscape surrounding the reactor. It’s a blasted wasteland, sure, but that doesn’t mean it’s not worth a look and there’s a lot to find if you make the effort. I even found time for a nice sit-down for a few minutes before skipping over the water and heading north into Dazzle, where my first stop was Physeter Nicholls ‘s Scriptless Machine. I’ve seen the demonstrations of this announced, and heard people enthuse about them, but I’ve not managed to get to one yet and that’s a shame. Perhaps I’ll be able to make tomorrow’s.

But that’s tomorrow, and a day I already have some plans for.

I found DRUM next, and yes, there were indeed Drums, and then discovered a build I’ve been looking forward to: the 1920s Berlin Project. I’ve been a fan of theirs (mostly in absentia) for some time, and especially of their efforts to maintain a strong hold of keeping the right feel there. Frau Jo Yardley, who keeps the place running, was absent as I passed through, which meant that the bar was unguarded unsupervised. I behaved as most contemporaneous writers would, of course, and I’m sure they’ll be able to bill the clean-up to my travel expenses.

Suitably refreshed (and I really am sorry about the barstool – I’m sure it’ll turn up eventually), I visited the elegant glass pyramid of the Brokeback LGBT Centre, and from there to an exhibit I was delighted to see, for a cause I feel very strongly about: Relay for Life of Second Life. Those of us who Relay all have our own reasons, and so many people come together here to raise money for ACS that it’s good to see such a community-spanning initiative represented here. Next was the Acorn2Oak PTSD Community, a less-famous initiative but one that also does important work for those who need it, and another subject that I have my own reasons to care about.

Yes, I know it's bad for the engines - those Jumos were twitchy at the best of times.

Yes, I know it’s bad for the engines – those Jumos were twitchy at the best of times.

And then there were aeroplanes. I don’t expect many people to get excited by the sight of an Me262 coming into view, but I have a model of one above my desk and I’ve always found it a deeply evocative aircraft (which reminds me – I’ve been promising myself SL flying lessons for ages!). So my thanks, at least, to Dogs on the Run for parking one outside their hangar.

My last stop was both a hint of the day’s destination and an irresistible joke given how I got there: Bear Silvershade’s exhibit Journey. It’s certainly been a journey so far, and my final stop was just across the water, covered in…

Bears.

Counterpart to the Linden Bear, the Mole... um... mole?

Counterpart to the Linden Bear, the Mole… um… mole?

Yeah, yeah, it’s a lame gag. But there are Moles, too! It was really nice to see those quiet workers who make nice things for us represented among all the bears of Lindens current and departed. It’s also, if you want to look at it a certain way, a nice balance to the Cornfield, which sits on the opposite side of the estate. Here are the bears given to those who help out or ask nicely (thanks for the Pwny, Rod!) and the Cornfield was once what happened to those on the other side of the coin. Or maybe I’m reading too much into it all and should go for a nice lie-down.

Tomorrow sees my Long Walk come to an end as I pass through two last sims before reaching the Welcome Area once more. Hopefully, someone’s warming up the foot spa already…

X marks the spot!

X marks the spot!

This is a hunt, and you’re looking for one (or more) of these. They’ll be somewhere on the route but even I don’t know exactly where you’ll find them so there’s no point asking me for hints. Explore! Have fun! Live a little!

If you’re joining us late, you can catch up with the whole thing here.

One thought on “The Long Walk at SL10B CC – Episode Six: Single-Stage Rocket

  1. Pingback: The Long Walk: Led by David Abbot ~ NEW PATH DAILY | HUNT SL

Leave a Reply

